World-Class Russian Education!

The goal of Project 5-100 is to maximize the competitive position of a group of leading Russian universities in the global research and education market.

Latest news

Government Divides R10 Bln Worth of 2020 Subsidies among Project 5-100 Institutions

February 26, 2020

On February 22, 2020, the Russian government issued a directive distributing R10.07 bln in federal subsidies for the year 2020 among the country's 21 premier universities that participate in Project 5-100. The funding, designed to help these institutions better compete with their international peers, is being made available under the Young Professionals federal project that forms part of the National Project for Education.

The rules for awarding such subsidies are laid down in Government Order No. 211 dated March 16, 2013, which regulates the allocation of public funds to Russia's top-tier universities for the purpose of enhancing their competitive advantage within the global group of leading academic institutions.

Appropriations are approved by the Ministry for Science and Higher Education, which acts on recommendations from the Council for Increasing the Competitiveness of Premier Russian Universities Relative to the World's Leading Research and Higher Learning Institutions.

This year's allocations are as follows:

ITMO University, the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology (MIPT), National Research Nuclear University MEPhI, National Research University Higher School of Economics (HSE), National University for Science and Technology MISIS, Novosibirsk State University (NSU), Tomsk State University (TSU) – R875.78 mln each;

Kazan Federal University (KFU), RUDN University, Saint Petersburg Polytechnic University (SPbPU), Sechenov University, Tomsk Polytechnic University (TPU), the University of Tyumen, Ural Federal University (UrFU) – R437.89 mln each;

Far Eastern Federal University (FEFU), Immanuel Kant Baltic Federal University (IKBFU), Lobachevsky University, Saint Petersburg Electrotechnical University ETU “LETI”, Samara University, Siberian Federal University (SibFU), South Ural State University (SUSU) – R125.11 mln each.

An upgraded competitiveness enhancement program is due to take over from Project 5-100 in 2021. It is expected to enroll at least 30 institutions, representing each of Russia's federal districts (major administrative units comprising several regions, or federal subjects). The Young Professionals project provides for holding a competition in 2020 to select the universities that will receive government support towards improving their global competitiveness under the new program.