World-Class Russian Education!

The goal of Project 5-100 is to maximize the competitive position of a group of leading Russian universities in the global research and education market.


Lap-Chee Tsui

Member of the Council

President of the Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong

Director of Qiushi Academy for Advanced Studies (Zhejiang University).

President of the Victor and William Fung Foundation.

Professor at Hong Kong Science and Technology Park.

Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, Fellow of the Royal Society of London, Fellow of Academia Sinica, Foreign Associate of the National Academy of Sciences (US).

During his presidency at Hong Kong University, he conducted structural reforms and raised substantial public and private funds for infrastructure and research development, which ultimately made HKU a world-class institution.

An outstanding geneticist. One of the leaders of the Human Genome Project. Mr. Lap-Chee identified the gene responsible for cystic fibrosis. He worked in numerous research and medical institutions around the world and served on the editorial boards of over 20 scientific magazines.


Genetics and genomics.


BSc (1972), MSc (1974) from the Chinese University of Hong Kong (Hong Kong), Ph.D. in Biology (1979) from the University of Pittsburg (USA).

Professional experience:

2015-present – President of the Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong.

2015-present – Director of Qiushi Academy of Advanced Studies (Zhejiang University, China).

2015-present – President of the Victor and William Fung Foundation (Hong Kong).

2014 – Senior Adviser to the President of Hong Kong University.

2002-2014 – President of Hong Kong University.

2000-2002 – President of the Human Genome Organization.

1981-2002 – Postdoctoral Fellow and Senior Scientist at the Research Institute of the Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto (Canada).

1981-2002 – Professor of Molecular and Medical Genetics at the University of Toronto (Canada).


Grand Bauhinia Medal (2016).

Canadian Medical Hall of Fame (2012).

Knight of the Legion d’Honneur (2007).

Killam Prize (2002).

Elliott Cresson Medal (1992).

Officer of the Order of Canada (1991).